top of page

If kids can do it, so can I


I'm starting to find that I end up with a lot of downtime at work -- in between waiting for my Docker profile to build, or for the container to start, or waiting for code review feedback. These minutes don't add up to anything substantial enough to really put toward the next JIRA ticket, and so I usually find myself browsing Slack and catching up on conversations. Not really meaningful.

So I decided to come up with a list of small exercises I can work on while I'm waiting, for whatever it is. Here's my list of resources so far!

Python

Javascript

This website is fantastic, I'd highly recommend it. They offer several different languages, but I've been working through the Javascript series: exercism.io/languages/javascript/exercises

CSS

Ok so this one is a site for elementary aged children. But it is a ton of fun, the exercises are short and simple, and incredibly adorable. And hey, if they can learn this stuff, so can I! codeclubprojects.org/en-GB/webdev

React

After I complete an exercise, I usually try to make it better by solving it a different way. And sometimes I'm left with questions on how to implement the prompt even better, so I come to Ganbi or someone on my team to ask for help. It's a nice way to get feedback and help without having to dive into a full project's details and requirements. The problems are small and usually simple.

bottom of page